Sheep Station, Francois Xavier Lalanne/Michael Shvo, Shireen 9/15

Sheep Station

This is a pretty great installation I saw in Chelsea last week. It is a repurposed old Getty gas station, with fences, green grass and Francois Xavier Lalanne’s sheep sculptures. Frankly I thought it was hilarious. I also really liked the juxtaposition- it is very telling to put something so out of the ordinary in a public space in New York. I wonder how it must be for New Yorkers who drive since there doesn’t seem to be many gas stations and now this one has been turned into an art installation. It says a lot about what the city used to be and what choices must be made in urban design and building. I also liked seeing art in such a public and direct space in Chelsea when I find that a lot of the time the Chelsea galleries are not approachable and people who run them do not like to be asked about the work. This is very open.

One thought on “Sheep Station, Francois Xavier Lalanne/Michael Shvo, Shireen 9/15

Leave a comment